Olympic-champion women’s soccer team gets Team of the Year

The 2012 United States Women’s National soccer team, which captured the Olympic gold medal in London this past summer by beating Japan 2-1, has been named the Team of the Year by the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association.

Midfielder Carli Lloyd, who scored both goals in the climatic final game, will accept the award at the PSWA’s 109th annual dinner, taking place January 28 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, on Route 70 in Cherry Hill. Tickets are still available – CLICK HERE to purchase. 
The U.S. Women, by beating Japan, won its third straight Olympic gold, and fought its way to the championship game with a comeback victory over France and a narrow win over Canada in a thriller.  In the semifinal match against Canada, the U-S trailed three times before Alex Morgan’s header in extra time lifted the team to a 4-3 victory.

The London Olympics marked the first time the U.S. Women’s National Team won every game en route to the gold medal and set an Olympic women’s team record of 16 goals scored.  The gold medal game was seen by over 80,000 spectators at Wembley Stadium, an Olympic record for women’s soccer and the largest crowd the team has played in front of outside of the United States.
Carli Lloyd, a Delran native, will be joined by a distinguished group of honorees, including Phillies great Larry Bowa (Living Legend); Sixers legend Bobby Jones (accepting a special achievement award honoring the 1983 NBA Champion 76ers); AL Rookie of the Year Mike Trout (Pro Athlete of the Year); Phillies ace Cole Hamels and wife Heidi (Humanitarian of the Year); University of Delaware basketball star Elena Della Donne (Outstanding Amateur Athlete) and Ed Snider, chairman of the Flyers’ parent company, Comcast-Spectacor, who will receive a lifetime achievement award for his humanitarian work.

Other prestigious awards at the dinner, including Native Son, and Good Guy Athlete, among others, will be announced soon, as will a couple of memorable surprise presentations and some “Special Achievement” awards. The most coveted award—Most Courageous—is kept secret until the night of the dinner, the oldest continuing sports awards banquet in the nation.
The dinner is open to the public. CLICK HERE to purchase tickets ($95 apiece).
Doors to the banquet open at 5 p.m. with the dinner starting promptly at 6:30 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *