PSWA's 110th annual Sports Awards Dinner: Who is going to be there?


The Philadelphia Sports Writers Association hosts its 110th annual Sports Banquet on Monday, January 27, at the Crowne Plaze in Cherry Hill.

The public is welcome. Tickets can be purchase by CLICKING HERE.

Here’s a list of award-winners and honorees.

2014 Philadelphia Sports Writers Association Traditional Award Winners:

  • Philadelphia Pro Athlete – Danny Garcia (Light welterweight boxer: Undefeated light Welterweight Champion)
  • Outstanding National Pro Athlete: LeSean McCoy (Philadelphia Eagles running back)
  • Native Son: Bo Ryan (head coach of the University of Wisconsin–Madison Badgers men’s basketball team)
  • Living Legend: Bill Barber (former Philadelphia Flyers forward)
  • Athlete Good Guy: Jason Avant (Philadelphia Eagles receiver)
  • Team of the Year: Boston Red Sox
  • Amateur Athlete: Rondell White (West Chester University running back)
  • *Lifetime Achievement Award: Bernard Hopkins (Middleweight Boxer: multi champion/belt holder)
  • Ed Snider Lifetime Distinguished Humanitarian: Jim Murray (former Philadelphia Eagles general manager, founder of the Eagles Fly for Lukemia campaign, founder of first Ronald McDonald House)
  • Penn Relays Frank Dolson Award: Emily Lipari (Villanova University)
  • Army/Navy Game MVP: Keenan Reynolds (Navy quarterback)
  • 1973 & 1974 Stanley Cup Commemoration: Bernie Parent & Bob Clarke (former Philadelphia Flyers goalie and former Philadelphia Flyers captain)

2014 Philadelphia Sports Writers Association Special Achievement Award Winners:

  • Wayne Hardin (Temple University & Naval Academy football coach, College Football Hall of Fame inductee)
  • Tim Van Liew (Rutgers-Camden track & field: javelin)
  • Denise Dillon (Head Coach, Drexel University Women’s basketball)
  • Jay Greenberg (Philadelphia Flyers beat writer, Hockey Hall of Fame inductee)
  • Eastern High School Field Hockey (14 straight N.J. State Field Hockey championships and this year won N.J. Tournament of Champions)

2014 Philadelphia Sports Writers Association Honored Guests:

  • Joe Conklin (comedian & radio personality)
  • Ryne Sandberg (Phillies skipper)
  • Ruben Amaro Jr. (Phillies General Manager)
  • Lou Guzzi (PGA Teacher of the Year)
  • Cody Asche (Phillies third baseman)
  • Dr. John Giannini (La Salle University men’s basketball coach)
  • Chris Albright (former Philadelphia Union defender)
  • Jerome Allen (University of Pennsylvania Men’s Basketball coach)
  • Carolyn Gray (Philadelphia & Boston Marathon runner)
  • Brandon Matthews (Temple University golfer)
  • Michael Mills (University of Pennsylvania fencer)
  • Alfredo Santana (La Salle University men’s track)
  • John Robertson (Villanova University quarterback)
  • Mo Hawkins (St. Joseph’s University women’s soccer)
  • Ken Tribbet (Drexel University men’s soccer)
  • Kristen Blye (Philadelphia University women’s basketball)
  • Marcelin Withler (Rowan University running back)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *