PSWA banquet on Feb. 1: So who’s going to be there?

The Philadelphia Sports Writers Association hosts its 106th annual Awards Dinner on Monday night, Feb. 1.

The event will be held at the Crowne Plaza hotel on Route 70 in Cherry Hill, just minutes from all Philadelphia bridges. Doors open at 5 p.m., and dinner starts at 6:30.

Award winners include:

Brent Celek (Eagles) – Outstanding Professional Athlete
Andrew Bailey (Oakland Athletics) – Native Son
Red Klotz (Washington Generals) – Living Legend
Willie Green (76ers) – Good Guy Award
Phillies and Charlie Manuel – Team of the Year
1960 Philadelphia Eagles (NFL Champions) – Special Recognition
Gabriela Marginean (Drexel University, women’s basketball) – Outstanding Amateur Athlete
Dickie Noles (Phillies) – Humanitarian
1985 Villanova Basketball (NCAA Champions) – Special Recognition
Ruben Amaro (Phillies) – Executive of the Year
Jay Wright (Villanova basketball) – Special Achievement
Andy Talley (Villanova football) – Special Achievement
Sarah Bowman (University of Tennessee) – Frank Dolson Award (Penn Relays)
Gina Procaccio (Villanova women’s cross country) – Special Achievement
Ricky Dobbs (Naval Academy) – Army-Navy MVP
Bob Nydick (Rivershark Twins fastpitch softball) – Special Achievement
Penn State Women’s Volleyball (national champions) – Special Achievement

Other speakers include:

Andy Reid (head coach, Philadelphia Eagles)
Ed Pinckney (1985 Villanova basketball)
Pete Retzlaff (1960 Philadelphia Eagles)
Todd Kalas (broadcaster, Harry Kalas’ son)
Nick Sakiewicz (Philadelphia Union soccer)
Joe Conklin (Sports Comedian)

Other honorees:

Eddie Chambers (heavyweight boxing contender)
Al Golden (Tempe University football coach)
Von Hayes (former Phillies star)
Chuck Bednarik (1960 Eagles)
Tommy McDonald (1960 Eagles)
Dick Lucas (1960 Eagles)
Gary Dornhoefer (former Flyers star)
Speedy Morris (St. Joseph’s Prep basketball coach)
Al Bagnoli (Penn basketball coach)
Bruiser Flint (Drexel basketball coach)
Fran Dunphy (Temple basketball coach)
John Giannini (LaSalle basketball coach)
Jerome Allen (Penn, assistant basketball coach)
Cheryl Reeve (head coach, Minnesota Lynx, WNBA)
Kevin McDonnell (St. Joseph’s men’s cross country)
Sheila Reid (Villanova women’s cross country)
Jess Babice (Rowan University women’s soccer)
Yves Mekongo (LaSalle basketball)
Matt Szczur (Villanova football)
Christina Mastropaolo (Drexel University field hockey)
Celena Rendon (Philadelphia University women’s volleyball)
Kristen Lange (University of Pennsylvania squash)
Alyson Harris (Access Sports)

The PSWA awards dinner is open to the public. Tickets are still available ($75). Click here to order tickets online.

2 thoughts on “PSWA banquet on Feb. 1: So who’s going to be there?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *