Flyers Earn PSWA’s ‘Team of the Year’ Award

PSWA honors Philadelphia Flyers

The 2009-10 Philadelphia Flyers, who came within a shootout of not making the NHL playoffs at all, will be honored by the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association as the 2010 Team of the Year at the PSWA’s 107th annual banquet on January 31, 2011.

The Flyers almost went home when the regular season ended, but prevailed in a shootout against the New York Rangers in the last game of the regular season.

After upsetting the No. 2 seed New Jersey Devils in the first round, they found themselves down three games to none in the Eastern Conference semifinals against the Boston Bruins. They forced a seventh game, but then fell behind by a score of 3-0 in Game 7, in Boston.

Improbably, the Flyers seized the opportunity to pull off the biggest comeback in franchise history, winning the game – and the series – 4-3. They are now only one of three teams in history to win a playoff series after trailing 3-0.

The Flyers won the Eastern Conference Championship against Montreal in five games and advanced to the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time since 1997 before losing to Chicago in six games.

The Sports Writers Association’s 107th annual banquet will be held on Monday, January 31, 2011 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel on Route 70 in Cherry Hill, N.J. The public is welcome, and tickets are available online.

In addition to the Team of the Year, other awards to be presented will be the professional and amateur Athletes of the Year, the Philadelphia Living Sports Legend, Humanitarian, Good Guy Athlete, Native Son, Outstanding Penn Relays collegiate performer, MVP of the Army-Navy game, and several special achievement presentations.

The Philadelphia Sports Writers Association was founded on May 12, 1904, and the first of what would become an annual Awards Dinner was held Feb. 15, 1905.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *