Ed Snider wins lifetime humanitarian award named in his honor

Comcast-Spectacor chairman Ed Snider has been named the first winner of the newly created Ed Snider Lifetime Distinguished Humanitarian Award, it was announced by PSWA president Ron Corbin of KYW NewsRadio.

Snider, the founder of the Philadelphia Flyers and Spectacor, will be honored for his many years of benefiting charitable organizations and agencies in the Philadelphia area. The award will be given at the PSWA’s 109th annual Sports Awards Dinner on Monday, January 28, 2013 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, on Route 70 in Cherry Hill, NJ.

A prime example of Snider’s humanitarian work was the creation of the Ed Snider Youth Hockey Foundation, which provides children from inner city communities with the chance to learn to play ice hockey at area rinks. The program also includes an educational component that underlines the importance of staying in school, as well as service to the community and setting personal goals. In 2008, the foundation rescued three Philadelphia inner city rinks that the city had targeted for closure, and in 2011 the foundation matched a state grant to fund a $13 million renovation project for all five of the city’s rinks.

Snider brought an NHL franchise to Philadelphia in 1966 and was one of the forces behind the building of the Spectrum, and assumed control of the building in 1971. In 1974 he created Spectacor to manage the Flyers and the Spectrum, and in 1996 merged Spectacor with Comcast to create Comcast-Spectacor, then consisting of the Flyers, 76ers, Phantoms, Wells Fargo Center and the Spectrum. The company then joined with the Phillies to form ComcastSportsNet, one of the most popular regional sports cable networks in the U.S.

Snider was elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1988 and serves on the NHL’s Executive Committee. He is a recipient of the Lester Patrick Award for outstanding service to hockey in the U.S. and has been elected to the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, the Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame, the Philadelphia Sports Hall of Fame, the Philadelphia Jewish Hall of Fame and the Flyers Hall of Fame.

The newly created award will bear Ed Snider’s name going forward.

University of Delaware basketball star Elena Della Donne has already been announced as the Outstanding Amateur Athlete. Other prestigious awards at the dinner, including Team of the Year, Living Legend, Native Son, Humanitarian of the Year, and Good Guy Athlete, among others, will be announced in coming weeks, as will a couple of memorable surprise presentations and some “Special Achievement” awards. The most coveted award—Most Courageous—is kept secret until the night of the dinner, the oldest continuing sports awards banquet in the nation.
Tickets for the dinner, which would make perfect holiday gifts for the sports fan in your life, are $95 apiece and available online (CLICK HERE)

Fans can also friend PSWA on Facebook.

Doors to the banquet open at 5 P.M. with the dinner starting promptly at 6:30 P.M.

One thought on “Ed Snider wins lifetime humanitarian award named in his honor”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *